Return to Headlines

JPS Honors Board Members During Statewide Recognition Week

February 9, 2021


Letitia S. Johnson Edward Sivak Barbara Hilliard
Ms. Letitia S. Johnson, President Dr. Edward D. Sivak Jr., Vice President Ms. Barbara T. Hilliard, Secretary


Frank Figgers Robert Luckett Jeanne Middleton Hairston Cynthia Thompson
Mr. Frank Figgers Dr. Robert Luckett Dr. Jeanne Middleton Hairston Ms. Cynthia Thompson

The Jackson Public School District is pleased to join school districts across the state in celebrating the individuals who serve on local school boards. The seven members of the JPS Board of Trustees are to be commended for their commitment to this community's scholars and families. Though they have families, professional careers, and other responsibilities just like the rest of us, they commit additional time to the District's business — attending meetings and school activities, answering community questions, refining their governance skills and so much more.

In observance of School Board Member Recognition Week in Mississippi, February 8-12, we recognize our Board members for the contributions they make to the education of our community's students. We are grateful for their commitment to improving learning experiences for all of our scholars in grades pre-K through 12 with an intense focus on academic achievement guiding their work.

Our Board members are ambassadors, promoting the District to the public and informing the community about its challenges and successes. Often their efforts go unnoticed but yield invaluable community support that helps our schools succeed. We hope that you will join us in recognizing their dedication during School Board Recognition Week.

Currently serving on the JPS School Board are:

Attorney Letitia S. Johnson, President (2017)

Letitia Simmons Johnson is an accomplished attorney with a strong financial background. Her volunteer work includes serving as treasurer for the Jackson Chapter of The Links, Inc.

Dr. Edward D. Sivak Jr., Vice President (2017)

Ed Sivak is the Executive Vice President/Chief Policy and Communications Office for Hope Enterprise Corporation where he has worked since 2000. Sivak is also a member of the Better Together Commission, the independent group charged with transforming the Jackson Public School District in 2017.

Ms. Barbara T. Hilliard, Secretary (2017)

Barbara Hilliard taught secondary English at a number of JPS schools before becoming the International Baccalaureate program coordinator at Jim Hill High School. She was also a coordinator of the Advanced Placement curriculum. She has shared her expertise in advanced curriculum as a conference presenter and professional development trainer for more than 20 years.

Mr. Frank Figgers, Member (2018)

Frank Figgers is a strategy consultant for One Voice Inc., a local nonprofit focused on voting rights and education.  Additionally, he served on the board of the Young People's Project of Jackson and was vice-chairman of the board of directors for the Veterans of the Mississippi Civil Rights Movement. As a student at Tougaloo College, he worked with the Jackson Human Rights Project.

Dr. Robert Luckett, Member (2017)

Robert Luckett is Director of the Margaret Walker Center for the Study of the African American Experience at Jackson State University. He also serves on the boards of the new Mississippi Civil Rights Museum, Leadership Greater Jackson, the Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership and others.

Dr. Jeanne Middleton Hairston, Member (2017)

Jeanne Middleton Hairston has worked most recently as a consultant with the Mississippi Department of Archives and History and the Children’s Defense Fund in Washington, D.C. Her career spans more than three decades as an educator and administrator. She is an active presenter in areas involving student rights and educational opportunity.

Ms. Cynthia Thompson, Member (2020)

Thompson and her husband are entrepreneurs and community leaders. In addition to her independent Mary Kay beauty consulting business, the couple operates Thompson Technologies, a computer repair and information technology services company.