Return to Headlines

Six JPS Educators Named to MDE Teacher Advisory Council for 2022-2023 School Year

August 23, 2022

 2022 JPS MDE Teacher Advisory Council
left to right, front to back - Ashley McGee-Smith, Mileta Davis-Smith, Alexandra Drake, Audrey Carroll, Shalia Smith, George Stewart II, Errick L. Greene, Ed.D.


The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) recently announced the addition of several experienced and highly regarded professionals from across the state to serve on the Mississippi Teacher Advisory Council (MTAC).  We are proud to announce six JPS educators joining the 2022 class. 
  • Audrey Carroll, Lanier High 

  • Miketa Davis-Smith, Lanier High

  • Alexandria Drake of JPS-Tougaloo College High  

  • Ashley McGee-Smith, Callaway High

  • Shalia Smith, Lanier High 

  • George Stewart II, Whitten Middle 

I am extremely proud of the strong representation of outstanding JPS educators chosen to serve on MDE's Teacher Advisory Council, said Superintendent Dr. Errick L. Greene. "We are excited about the wealth of knowledge and experience they will bring and share with us and our colleagues across the state." 

The purpose of the advisory committee is to provide feedback to the state superintendent of education on the initiatives of the MDE and the Mississippi State Legislature.