Return to Headlines

JPS Salutes Top 10 Seniors With Awards Program

May 21, 2021

ACT 30+ Club
2021 ACT 30+ Club Inductees
Callaway Top Ten Scholars
Callaway High School Top Ten Scholars
Forest Hill Top Ten Scholars
Forest Hill Top Ten Scholars
Jim Hill Top Ten Scholars
Jim Hill Top Ten Scholars
Lanier Top Ten Scholars
Lanier Top Ten Scholars
Murrah Top Ten Scholars
Murrah Top Ten Scholars
Provine Top Ten Scholars
Provine Top Ten Scholars
Wingfield Top Ten Scholars
Wingfield Top Ten Scholars

On Wednesday, May 19, Jackson Public Schools honored the top ten graduating seniors from each of our seven high schools during the Annual Salute to Scholars Program at Kirksey Middle School. Each JPS high school principal and senior counselor presented awards to the top ten graduating seniors at their schools. The District celebrated these scholars for outstanding academic achievements gained through their diligent pursuit of excellence throughout their high school years.

For the first time this year, Jackson Public Schools inducted 10 high school students into the JPS ACT 30+ Club to recognize their exemplary performance on the ACT. These 10 scholars earned a 30 or better on the ACT. This achievement places them in the 95th percentile among test-takers nationwide. They received awards and special recognition from the District and three of the District's community partners—Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership, Jackson Get2College Center, and Jackson Area Federal Credit Union.

Program presenters included Rosaline McCoy of the Jackson Council PTA/PTSA (JCPTA), JPS Superintendent Dr. Errick L. Greene, JPS Chief of Staff Michael Cormack, and High Schools Assistant Superintendent Laketia Marshall-Thomas. Mayor Chokwe Antar Lumumba, City of Jackson, served as the keynote speaker.

We are grateful to the JCPTA and the Office of the Mayor of the City of Jackson for their continued participation in this annual awards program. Additionally, we appreciate the support of our partners, families, and school communities who came out to support these exceptional scholars.

2021 ACT 30+ Club Inductees

  • Hanna Bengten, Murrah
  • Leandrea Clay, Murrah
  • Micah Collette, Murrah
  • Benjamin Davis, Murrah
  • Eleanor Goodwin, Murrah
  • Parker Hansen, Murrah
  • Elizabeth Hawkins, Murrah
  • Casey Hedrick, Wingfield
  • Lucas Morrisey, Murrah
  • Oluch Nwaokorie, Murrah

2021 Top Ten Scholars by Scholars


  • Samunique Blackmon
  • William Hulbert Jr.
  • Kinani Lacy
  • Rodricus MaGee
  • Salimah Muhammad
  • Cache' Rideout
  • Jaiden Vaughan
  • India Watkins 
  • Alana Woodruff 
  • Cameron Yarber

Forest Hill

  • Jaleia Carter
  • Tradiya Cook 
  • Jamicheal Dickerson 
  • Anna Foreman 
  • Khadari Johnson
  • Kelvin Larkin Jr. 
  • Kyleyah O'Harroll 
  • Destiny Smith 
  • Kayla Smith 
  • Ana Urbano    

Jim Hill

  • Xavian Branch
  • Cikhyzyan Cleveland
  • Cerissa Cooley
  • Kayla Fisher
  • Terryonna Love
  • Justin Piggs
  • Dwight Ross
  • Kylei' Taylor
  • Ashanti Woods
  • Kaiden Woods   


  • Madison Burks 
  • Sacario Hamilton 
  • Corbin Henderson 
  • Amiracle Johnson 
  • Alisha Magee
  • Jamecia McLaurin 
  • Lailah Reed 
  • La'Kiya Thompson 
  • Christopher Washington 
  • Asunte White


  • Hanna Bengten 
  • Alexis Cameron 
  • Leandria Clay 
  • Benjamin Davis 
  • Eleanor Goodwin
  • Taylor Moore 
  • Oluchi Nwaokorie 
  • Moriah Roland 
  • Felicia Sheriff 
  • Jayden Woullard 


  • Joseph Anthony
  • Taliyah Burton
  • Takiyah Forbes
  • Brendan Jefferson
  • Pakhiyah Johnson
  • Trinitee Johnson
  • Jayla Mayfield
  • Jakeviunna Turner
  • Kalani Williams
  • Angel Woods


  • Jaylin Buckley 
  • Rakaisia Cain 
  • Kaniya Epps  
  • Sameria Foster 
  • Armando Gonzalez-Rangel
  • Deontay Jenkins 
  • LeSpirit Jennings 
  • Anveiona Robinson 
  • Crisshonna Thompson 
  • Ramiyah Thompson 

More Coverage: