Return to Headlines

JPS Announces 2021-2022 Advisory Committee Members

September 27, 2021

JPS Advisory Committees
Jackson Public Schools names members of 2021-2022 advisory committees formed to represent the interests of students, parents, teachers, and administrators of the District.

Each year, we identify scholars, teachers, parents, and administrators to serve as representative voices on the District's advisory committees. Advisory committees will meet regularly with District administrators throughout the school year. The role of committee members is an essential constituent relations role, as these groups provide different perspectives on key issues. Their charge is to make recommendations to assist District leaders in guiding schools more effectively. Although they do not make final decisions, advisory members help us make more informed decisions.

Scholar Advisory Committee Members

  • Jasmine Taylor, Callaway High
  • Aryelle Saine, Callaway High
  • Ashton Dukes, Forest Hill High
  • Khalea Johnson, Forest Hill High
  • McKinley Washington, Jim Hill High
  • Kevonta Jefferson, Jim Hill High
  • Kayla Latiker, Lanier High
  • Noah Hayes, Lanier High
  • Shilanda Francis, Murrah High
  • Jarek Peterson, Murrah High
  • Cambria White, Provine High
  • Trayvon Jack, Provine High
  • Chris Brown, Wingfield High
  • Akira Miller, Wingfield High
  • Madison Avery, J-TECHS
  • Thad Taylor, J-TECHS

Parent Advisory Committee Members

  • Rosalena McClendon, Baker Elementary
  • Angelical Paige, Galloway Elementary
  • Amanda McGuffey, McWillie Elementary
  • Shawanda Simmons, Obama Magnet Elementary
  • Mark Davis, Spann Elementary
  • Amy Robinson, Green Elementary
  • Michelle Talley, John Hopkins Elementary
  • Ledireada Kent, Marshall Elementary
  • Theresa Briggs, McLeod Elementary
  • Larry Wilson, Timberlawn Elementary
  • Catina Jackson, Kirksey Middle
  • Melvin Jenkins, Bailey Middle
  • Brenda Sample, Whitten Middle
  • Tonya Blevins, Brinkley Middle
  • Laquita Sims, Cardozo Middle
  • Kimberly Cowan, Provine High
  • Frederick Gray, Wingfield High
  • Constance Mitchell, Lanier High

Teacher Advisory Committee Members

  • Regina Blackman, Boyd Elementary
  • Jory Hemphill, Casey Elementary
  • Lakisha Primer, North Jackson Elementary
  • Jannie Quinn, Oak Forest Elementary
  • Latosha Davis, Smith Elementary
  • Ken Coleman, Green Elementary
  • Crystal Moncrief, Timberlawn Elementary
  • Tanya Fortenberry, Lake Elementary
  • Tanya Davis, Marshall Elementary
  • Celeste Smith-Baker, Clausell Elementary
  • Joselyn Butler, Whitten Middle
  • Cheryl Jones, Chastain Middle
  • Alicia Williams, Cardozo Middle
  • Kimaleshia Newell, Powell Middle
  • Angel Jefferson, Bailey APAC Middle
  • Denavia Bell, Provine High
  • Krystal Chatman, J-TECHS
  • Susan Bender, Jim Hill High

Administrator Advisory Committee Members

  • Dr. Sara Harper, McWillie Elementary
  • Stephen Johnson, Bates Elementary
  • Elana Tate, Key Elementary
  • Ashanti Barnes, Van Winkle Elementary
  • Lashunna McInnis, Powell Middle
  • Donald Boyd, Cardozo Middle
  • Dr. Sheila Gilmore, Bailey APAC Middle
  • Dr. Alvanette Buchanan, Murrah High  
  • Torrey Hampton, Forest Hill High
  • Larry Armstrong, Jim Hill High