Return to Headlines

Teacher Appreciation Week: Saluting Our 2021 Teachers of the Year

May 3, 2021

May 3-7 is Teacher Appreciation Week. Jackson Public Schools will be celebrating our teachers throughout the week. While it is always important to recognize how much teachers matter, this past year is especially significant. Many educators have worked around the clock to move their teaching online or to a hybrid format while continuing to support their students. Remote or hybrid learning can make it tough to show teachers how much you care, but there are still plenty of options like e-cards and thank-you videos or classroom goodies, gift cards, and decorations.

Helping to fund teachers' classroom projects through DonorsChoose is another great option for Teacher Appreciation Week. The best day to give is Tuesday, May 4. Starting at 6 a.m. Tuesday every donation to a project on DonorsChoose will be matched 50% thanks to SONIC Drive-In, while funds last. This means that a $20 donation will become a $30 donation, a $100 donation will become a $150 donation, and so on.

For more ways to show your appreciation, consider contacting your child's school or PTA to find out how you can join them in expressions of gratitude for your child's teachers.

We would also like to take this time to salute our 2021 school-level Teachers of the Year. These teachers represent a culture of transformational excellence in our schools. Each of them was recognized by their schools for outstanding performance in the classroom with an exceptional ability to lead among their colleagues and inspire scholars to achieve at high levels. Additionally, they consistently demonstrate unwavering commitment and dedication to their school communities.

Quintavious Phillips of Galloway is the 2021 Districtwide Teacher of the Year. A celebration was held in his honor at his school in February.

Shirley English Beth Roach LaTesha Burroughs Kimberly Smith Rebecca Walker Kristy James
Baker - Shirley English Barack Obama - Beth Roach Bates - LaTesha Burroughs Boyd - Kimberly Smith Casey - Rebecca Walker Clausell - Kristy James
Lynsey McQueen Qunitavious Phillips Remona Posey Stephanie Mitchell Carmelita Johnson Anna Coley
Dawson - Lynsey McQueen Galloway - Quintavious Phillips Green - Remona Posey Isable - Stephanie Mitchell John Hopkins - Carmelita Jacob-Johnson Johnson - Anna Coley
Sheila Richardson Amanda Blake Terrell Kenyetta Reed Dwayne Williams Vickey Gilmore Olivia Jones
Key - Sheila Richardson Lake - Amanda Blake Terrell Lester - Kenyetta Reed Marshall - Dwayne Williams McLeod - Vickey Gilmore McWillie - Olivia Jones
Kendra Dixon Jannie Quinn Charlotte Bryant Kelsey Glass Renada Singleton Karen Rodgers
North Jackson - Kendra Dixon Oak Forest - Jannie Quinn Pecan Park - Charlotte Bryant Raines - Kelsey Glass Shirley - Dr. Renada Singleton Smith - Karen Rodgers
Roberta Walker Mary Welch Deshundra Tucker Latoya Elam Ashley White Kaminah Evans
Spann - Roberta Walker Sykes - Mary Welch Timberlawn - Deshundra Tucker Van Winkle - Latoya Atkins-Elam Walton - Ashley White Watkins - Kaminah Evans
Victoria Ramsay Shannon Champion Laura Clark Patrick Horton Kandice Young Taylor Tylyn Burton
Wells APAC - Victoria Ramsay Wilkins - Shannon Champion Bailey - Laura Clark Blackburn - Patrick Horton Brinkley - Kandice Young Taylor Cardozo - Tylyn Burton
Diane Stapleton Maya May Amanda Henderson Clarence Dunmore Vanessa Stewart Amy Clark
Chastain - Diane Stapleton Kirksey - Maya May Northwest - Amanda Henderson Peeples - Clarence Dunmore Powell - Vanessa Stewart Whitten - Amy Clark
From	Subject	Received	Size	Categories	 Oloko, Oluwafemi	Re: TAW Rotator Graphic	4:51 PM	128 KB		Allen Baugh Raynella Howard Anderson Faye Perkins Alisha Gibson Latoya Haymer
Callaway - Christopher Evans Forest Hill - Allen Baugh Jim Hill - Ranella Howard-Anderson Lanier - Faye Perkins Murrah - Alisha Gibson Provine - Latoya Haymer
Stephanie Powers Bonita Simmons Sophia Chapman Rhonda Murphy Johnson Reshayla Bradfield Hicks  
Wingfield - Stephanie Evans-Peters Capital City Alternative School - Bonita Simmons Career Development Center - Sophia Marshall Chapman JPS-Tougaloo Early College High School - Rhonda Murphy-Johnson REAP - Reshayla Bradfield-Hicks