Return to Headlines

Jackson State University Selects JPS Leader for COVID-19 Board

October 29, 2020

Dionne Jones-Woody

Dionne Jones-Woody

Jackson State University has selected Dionne Jones-Woody, Assistant Superintendent of Elementary Schools, to serve on the College of Health Sciences' COVID-19 Mitigation Community Advisory Board.

The board was established with funding from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Foundation to create COVID-19 mitigation strategies to reduce the number of cases among African American communities. Woody will attend monthly meetings and share recommendations regarding practices that will help prevent the spread of COVID-19 among at-risk populations. She will also have an important role outside of meetings sharing messages and implementing mitigation strategies with her networks and through participation in virtual town halls.

As the principal of Key Elementary, before being promoted to her current post, Jones-Woody led the school to an A rating and maintained a successful status for multiple consecutive years. Before that, she led Bradley Elementary School from low performing to successful in the four years she served as its leader. In 2016, she was named the Jackson Public Schools Administrator of the Year. She began her 22-year career in education as a teacher at Marshall Elementary.

Jones-Woody completed both a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and a Master of Science in Education Administration and Leadership from Jackson State University. The university recognized her with the National Alumni Association 2016 Black Tie Award for her commitment in the field of Education. That same year, she received a Proclamation in the field of Education from the Mississippi House of Representatives. She was awarded the Women of Progress, Inc. Distinguish Award in 2017 and the 2019 Educational Award from Central Mississippi Chapter of the National Council of Black Women.

Jones-Woody remains actively involved in numerous community service activities and partnerships through her church, Pilgrim Rest Missionary Baptist Church, and her sorority, the Madison County Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and as a member of the South Central Community Action Agency Board.