Return to Headlines

Power APAC Narrows Namesake Options to Six Semifinalists

October 20, 2020

 Margaret Walker, Jim Henson, Thalia Mara, Ida B. Wells, Eudora Welty, Richard Wright
The six semifinalists are representative of the school's commitment to providing both advanced academics and robust training in the arts.

Power APAC Elementary School recently accepted over 100 different namesake nominations. The Renaming Committee met and narrowed the list to six semifinalists based on the nomination guidelines. The new namesake should:

  • Be deceased.
  • Have a strong connection to Mississippi.
  • Be committed to academic and arts education.
  • Be relevant to students and create a sense of pride for them.

The six semifinalists are:

  • Richard Wright
  • Jim Henson
  • Margaret Walker Alexander
  • Ida B. Wells
  • Eudora Welty
  • Thalia Mara

JPS and Power APAC Elementary invite you to participate in this non-binding poll to cast your vote for your favorite namesake among the six semifinalists. The poll will remain live through 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, October 22.

The Renaming Committee will vote on Friday, October 23 to narrow the list to three finalists. Students will engage in meaningful lessons and activities based on the three finalists the week of October 26-30 and participate in a school-based virtual election the week of November 2.