Return to Headlines

MAE Announces 2019 Teacher Leadership Institute Fellows

September 17, 2020

Yoby Allen Dr. Sophia Marshall-Chatman Wanda Moses George Stewart
Yoby Allen Dr. Sophia Marshall-Chapman Wanda Moses George Stewart II

We are proud to announce that four JPS teachers have completed the 2019 Teacher Leadership Institute. They are:

  • Yoby Allen of Chastain Middle School
  • Dr. Sophia Marshall-Chapman of the Career Development Center
  • Wanda Moses of Marshall Elementary School
  • George Stewart II of Whitten Middle School

The Teacher Leadership Institute (TLI) is a joint endeavor of the National Education Association (NEA) and the Mississippi Association of Educators (MAE). The institute was developed and launched in 2014 in partnership with the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and the Center for Teaching Quality. The program focuses on a shared vision of teacher-leadership advancing the profession.

Participants engaged with an interactive curriculum designed and facilitated by expert teachers. Their learning took place virtually on NEA's learning management platform and in face-to-face meetings. Each TLI fellow will now mobilize their leadership to help advance student learning, strengthen the teaching profession, and provide vision and direction.

"I believe teachers stepping into leadership roles advances our entire public school system," said MAE President Erica Jones. "These teacher leaders are experts in their field, and their presence in our schools will have a profoundly positive impact on their students' success and their colleagues' professional development. The Teacher Leadership Institute is an innovative program that helps correct the systemic issues plaguing public education in Mississippi and plays an important role in addressing the teacher shortage crisis."