Return to Headlines

JPS Educators Named to Mississippi Teacher Advisory Council

September 8, 2020

Rakesia Gray Gladystine Jones Phillip Wooley
Rakesia Gray Gladystine Jones Phillip Wooley

The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) announced the addition of three esteemed JPS educators to its Mississippi Teacher Advisory Council (MTAC). The new members from JPS are Rakesia Gray of North Jackson Elementary, Gladystine Jones of Blackburn Middle School, and Phillip Curtis Wooley of Chastain Middle School. They join over 100 experienced and highly regarded professionals across the state selected this school year. Formed in 2016, MTAC now has grown to more than 300 educators representing schools in urban and rural settings and an array of content areas, from general education to career and technical education.

The purpose of the MTAC is to provide feedback to Dr. Carey Wright, state superintendent of education, on the initiatives of the MDE, the Mississippi State Board of Education and the Mississippi Legislature. The MTAC aims to empower teachers to discuss topics critical to their success in the classroom and how MDE can assist.

"Over the last four years, I have greatly valued the feedback from teachers across this state through our meetings," said Dr. Wright. "The MDE has provided professional development opportunities, resources, and changes in policy based in part on conversations I’ve had with members of the MTAC. I look forward to hearing from our new members as we work collaboratively on behalf of students."