Return to Headlines

Junior League and Community Foundation Award Over $100,000 to JPS Teachers

October 28, 2019

JLJ check presentation
Participating in the Teacher Mini-Grant check presentation are (from left) Pamela Franklin, JPS Elementary Assistant Superintendent; Thea Faulkner, Director, Partners in Education; Dr. Errick L. Greene, Superintendent; LaKeysha Greer Isaac, President, Junior League of Jackson; Cody Shumaker, Power APAC Principal; Camesha Hatchett, Boyd Elementary Principal;Dr. Melissa McCoy, Junior League; and Dr. Kathleen Grigsby, Elementary Assistant Superintendent.
JLJ Pile of Pants presentation
In addition to the mini-grants, Junior League members delivered over 1,000 pairs of uniform pants collected through the JLJ's annual "Pile O Pants" drive.

The Junior League of Jackson and the Community Foundation of Mississippi have announced the winners of this year's Education Foundation Trust Teacher Mini-Grants. Power APAC teachers were awarded four grants, totaling $22,667.07. Teachers from across the District submitted grants, vying for their share of this funding opportunity. Grants ranged in amount from $448 to just under $10,000. In total, $103,544.84 in grants were awarded to fund 22 classroom, team, or school-wide projects for the 2019-2020 school year.

The Junior League of Jackson and the Community Foundation of Mississippi’s Education Foundation Trust have provided JPS educators with funding to support a variety of enrichments, unique learning experiences and motivational projects that cannot be funded by normal budgeting processes.

"JPS educators have many innovative concepts that they envision to enhance our scholars' learning experiences," said Thea Faulkner, Director of Partners in Education. "This partnership with the Junior League of Jackson and the Community Foundation of Mississippi has provided our teachers with the resources to bring these amazing ideas to fruition. The League's focus on Early Literacy, Children’s Health and Social Development within these grant proposals has given us the resources to provide a wide variety of experiences in these areas. We are grateful for the countless hours of time and talents, as well as resources, League members give to enrich the lives of our children."

2019-2020 JPS Education Foundation Trust Mini-Grant Recipients

  • Baker Elementary School
  • Barack Obama Elementary School
  • Boyd Elementary School
  • Dawson Elementary School
  • John Hopkins Elementary School
  • Key Elementary School
  • McWillie Elementary School
  • Pecan Park Elementary School
  • Power APAC
  • Spann Elementary School

More Coverage: