Return to Headlines

McWillie Celebrates National PTA Award Mardi Gras Style

Mayor Tony Yarber wearing Mardi Gras beads
Mayor Tony Yarber was one of the special guests celebrating McWillie Elementary's designation as a National PTA School of Excellence.
Girl wearing mask and beads
The Mardi Gras themed event drew participation from the staff and families of the school and praise from the community.

McWillie Elementary School hosted a Mardi Gras themed celebration in February to recognize its designation as a School of Excellence by the National Parent Teacher Association. The designation is bestowed upon schools and PTAs that exhibit a "high level of family engagement." Across the nation, only 173 schools were named a National School of Excellence, and McWillie Elementary was the only school in Mississippi to receive the award.

During the celebration, Mayor Tony Yarber and other local leaders praised the school's principal, Dr. Sara Harper, students, teachers and parents for their outstanding national achievement. Other guest speakers were Elementary Chief Academic Officer Dr. William Merritt and Cynthia Wallace, President of the Mississippi PTA Board.

The festivities included a processional led by Southern Komfort Brass Band. Guests enjoyed a menu of classic Cajun cuisine that included red beans and rice, gumbo and King cake.

When McWillie Elementary School received news that it was named a National PTA School of Excellence, it was the only Mississippi school to receive the designation for 2016–2018. The award was given in recognition of the school's leadership and accomplishments nationwide in building strong, effective family-school partnerships. This achievement is due to the hard work of the 2015–2016 and 2016–2017 McWillie PTA Boards under the direction of President Revetia Caldwell.

McWillie PTA Executive Board

Board Members 2016-2017

  • Revetia Caldwell, President
  • Leslie Wilson
  • Deondria Grady
  • Zach Musselman
  • Kasey McKay
  • Amarylis West
  • Oreda Davis
  • Reneé Donaldson

Board Members 2015-2016

  • Revetia Caldwell, President
  • Gayla Carpenter Sanders
  • Todd Kern
  • Christina Coleman
  • Ed Sivak
  • Amarylis West
  • Veshell Lewis
  • Lillie Brooks
  • Kasey McKay