Return to Headlines

Power APAC’s  'Colored Museum' Wins Awards at Statewide Competition

Girl actor in costume as older woman, other actors in choir robes and dress clothes, singing, and one acting dead
Power APAC theatre students performed their acclaimed one-act play, "The Colored Museum," at the Mississippi Theatre Association Competition.
(Photos courtesy Magical Imagery)
Photo Gallery: Power APAC 'Colored Museum' at MTA

Students from Power APAC’s International Thespian Troupe #4909 gave another outstanding performance at the 2017 Mississippi Theatre Association Competition. Their one-act show, "The Colored Museum," by George C. Wolfe was reviewed as one of the top shows seen at the festival. Every student from Power APAC that competed either advanced as a finalist in individual events, placed in the top three in their category, or received multiple scholarship offers from colleges.

The Power APAC theatre department received the following awards and accolades in the One Act Competition, Individual Events Competition, and College Auditions Event:

One Act Show Competition

  • Social Impact Award
  • Festival Spirit Award
  • All-Star Cast: Justin Bell and Tykala Barnes

Individual Events

  • 1st Place Male Monologue: Justin Bell
  • 2nd Place Group Scene: Kingsley Nwaokorie, Artez Gibson, Ishmael Gray, and Jerion Keyes
  • 2nd Place Male Musical Theatre Solo: Justin Bell
  • 3rd Place Female Musical Theatre Solo: Olivia Bonds
  • 3rd Place Poster Design: Deija Oscar

Individual Finalists 

  • Duet Scene: Ariana Polk and Kaitlyn Fowler
  • Female Solo: Ta’Mari Lloyd and Tykala Barnes
  • Female Monologue: Tykala Barnes
  • Male Monologue: Kingsley Nwaokorie
  • Male Solo: Christopher McDonald

Seniors Makallen Kelley, Tykala Barnes, Justin Bell, Kingsley Nwaokorie, and Deija Oscar all received a call back from three or more colleges in the College Auditions competition.

"Wonderful Show," said competition adjudicator Leslie Barker. "Thank you for the heart you put into this piece. It is too hard to find real heart and soul on stage. You all have that—hold on to it! Our world needs it."

Power APAC was among nine other Mississippi schools that were awarded the opportunity to take a one-act show to this competition. Members of the full cast and crew of the school's acclaimed performance were Tykala Barnes, Justin Bell, Olivia Bonds, Destiny Dorsey, Kaitlyn Fowler, Nina Frost, Artez Gibson, Ishmael Gray, A’lora Griffith, Briana Jefferson, Makallen Kelley, Jerion Keyes, Ta’Mari Lloyd, Christopher McDonald, Kingsley Nwaokorie, Deija Oscar, Ariana Polk, and Mackenzie Williams.

The 2017 Mississippi Theatre Association Competition was held in January 2017 at University of Southern Mississippi.