Return to Headlines

Six JPS Teachers Recognized by Ask for More Jackson as Outstanding Educators

September 11, 2019

Katrina Clerk, Lynsey McQueen, Pamela Osborne, Keisha Parker, Margaret Price, Melissa Speed
The 2019 Outstanding Educators from JPS are (from left) Keisha Parker, Katrina Clerk, Margaret Price, Melissa Speed, Lynsey McQueen and Pamela Osborne.

Ask for More Jackson, with support from the Community Foundation for Mississippi, recognized six teachers from the Jackson Public School District as Outstanding Educators for 2019. The honorees were celebrated September 4 at a special luncheon held at the Jackson Medical Mall. Each outstanding teacher also received a substantial monetary award during the program.

Leading up to the official event, the Ask for More Jackson team visited the schools to surprise the teachers selected as Outstanding Educators. The announcement was made over the intercom so that all staff and students could celebrate the teachers at each school before recognizing them in their classrooms with their students.

A generous anonymous donor made this award possible. The teachers can use the funds for professional or personal purposes.

"This is one of my favorite events," said Jane Alexander, President and CEO of the Community Foundation for Mississippi. "We are delighted to recognize our outstanding educators by supporting this award. Our teachers are our strength in public schools, and we should certainly be proud of the fine work they do. It's important to celebrate the many great things teachers are accomplishing in our community."

Research says that educators are the most important factor affecting student achievement. 

"As a former principal and teacher, I know how challenging yet rewarding teaching is," said Gwendolyn Gardner, Interim Executive Director of Ask for More Jackson. "When you have committed and dedicated teachers, they should be recognized and celebrated every day."

2019 Outstanding Educators

Katrina Clerk, a 5th-grade teacher at Lester Elementary School, has 14 years of experience in education and was the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year at Lester and for Area 2.  She holds a bachelor's and master's degrees in Human Services/Family Counseling and a Specialist degree in Education with a concentration in leadership from Delta State University and Liberty University. Her principal at Lake is DeLacy Bridges.

Lynsey McQueen, a 3rd-grade teacher at Dawson Elementary, has five years of experience in education and was the 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year at Dawson. She received her bachelor’s and master’s degree in Biology from Jackson State University. He principal is Vicki Conley.

Pamela Osborne, a 10th-grade biology teacher at Forest Hill High School, has 14 years of teaching experience and was the 2014-2015 Teacher of the Year at Peeples Middle School and the 2015-2016 Teacher of the Year at French Elementary. She received degrees from Belhaven College, Alcorn State University, and Jackson State University. Her principal at Forest Hill is Torrey Hampton.

Keisha Parker, a 1st-grade teacher at Spann Elementary, has 17 years of teaching experience. She graduated from Jackson State University with a degree in Elementary Education. Her principal Lori Torrey at Spann.

Margaret Price, a 3rd-grade teacher at Galloway Elementary School, has 22 years of experience in education. She is a National Board Certified Teacher and was a 2019 Greater Jackson Metro Chamber Teacher of the Year. She holds a master’s degree in Education from Millsaps College. Marvin Davis is her principal at Galloway.

Melissa Speed, a 4th-grade reading and English language arts teacher at Pecan Park Elementary, has 18 years of experience in education and was the school’s 2018 nominee for the Greater Jackson Metro Chamber Outstanding Teacher Award. She graduated from Alcorn University with a bachelor’s degree and from Jackson State University with a master’s degree in Elementary Education. Her principal at Pecan Park is Wanda Quon.

We salute these 2019 Outstanding Educators from Jackson Public School for their commitment and dedication to providing excellence for all students they serve.

More Coverage: