Return to Headlines

Two JPS Administrators Named to the Mississippi Principal Advisory Council

September 30, 2022

Sara Harper, McWillie John Johnson, Obama Magnet
Dr. Sara Pearson Harper John Johnson


The Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) recently announced the addition of 32 highly-regarded education professionals from across the state to serve on the Mississippi Principal Advisory Council (MPAC) for the 2022-23 school year. Two outstanding academic leaders will represent Jackson Public Schools: Obama Magnet Principal John Johnson and McWillie Principal Dr. Sara Pearson Harper. Obama Elementary School is ranked as the top elementary school in Mississippi, and McWillie Elementary ranks 13th. "I am proud that these leaders were selected to serve," said Superintendent Dr. Errick L. Greene. "I know that they will lean in and extend their expertise and vast knowledge to this elite group of educators." 


The MPAC, formed in 2021, now includes 45 principals representing schools in urban and rural settings. The MPAC aims to empower principals to discuss topics critical to their success as administrators and to share suggestions on how MDE can assist. In addition, members will provide feedback on a variety of MDE initiatives.

“Hearing directly from Mississippi principals is essential to better understand what achievements and challenges they experience at their respective schools,” said Dr. Kim Benton, interim state superintendent of education. “I look forward to meeting all MPAC members soon to assess their needs and share MDE resources that can improve student outcomes.”

To see a list of the returning and new MPAC members go to