Return to Headlines

Casey Elementary Counselor Named 2022 JPS Counselor of the Year

March 11, 2022

Tiffany Agee Johnson
Tiffany Johnson

During National Counseling Week, February 7-11, the Office of Climate and Wellness saluted several JPS counselors for their dedication to the core values of equity, excellence, growth mindset, relationships, and relevance.  

Tiffany Agee Johnson, a counselor at Casey Elementary School, was named 2021-2022 Counselor of the Year. She has served in education for over 22 years and at Casey for 6 years, with four years as a school counselor. Ms. Johnson was named Casey’s Teacher of the Year in 2017 and JPS Rookie Counselor of the Year in 2021. She advocates for every student and believes all students have the right to be heard and treated with respect. Her professional goal is to nurture all scholars' social and emotional well-being and to encourage academic development for future success. 

Ms. Johnson has a bachelor’s degree in Elementary Education from Jackson State University, a master’s degree in Elementary Education from William Carey University, and a specialist in School Counseling from Jackson State University. She is a member of the American School Counseling Association (ASCA), Mississippi Counseling Association (MCA), and Mississippi Professional Educators (MPE).  

Other counselors honored include:

  • Jennifer Tanner, Obama Elementary, Rookie of the Year
  • Angela Powell, Blackburn Middle, Growth Mindset Award
  • Phyllis Ross, Boyd Elementary, Collaborating Counselor Award
  • Millicent Steverson, Isable Elementary, Innovative Counselor Award
  • D'Atra Gater, Lanier High, Award
Jennifer Tanner Angela Powell Phyllis Ross Millicent Steverson D'Atra Gater
Obama, Rookie of the Year
Jennifer Tanner
Blackburn, Growth Mindset Award
Angela Powell
Boyd, Collaborating Counselor Award
Phyllis Ross
Isable, Innovative Counselor Award
Millicent Steverson
Lanier, Award
D'Atra Gater