Return to Headlines

Veteran Educator at Bates Elementary Named JPS Counselor of the Year

February 20, 2020

Veteran Educator at Bates Elementary Named JPS Counselor of the Year  February 19, 2020  Awards were presented as part of a N
Joice Greer

Joice Greer of Bates Elementary School was named the 2019-2020 JPS Counselor of the Year in recognition of National School Counseling Week at a celebration held Friday, February 7.

Greer is a veteran educator with more than 20 years of experience. Recently elected Secretary of the Mississippi School Counselor Association, Greer is an active member of several professional counseling organizations. She takes pride in her counseling program at Bates Elementary School under the leadership of Principal Stephan Johnson. She empowers the school's students with behavioral modification strategies to promote a joyful learning environment. Greer advocates, leads, collaborates and consults with scholars, staff, parents and the community to help provide equitable educational opportunities for all.

Also recognized with special counseling awards were:

  • Ebonie Butler-Cheeks, Forest Hill High School – The Collaborating Counselor Award
  • Adrienne Fleming, Early College High School – Professional Counselor Rookie of the Year Award
  • Whitney Gray, McWillie Elementary – The Award
  • LaShonda Turner, Timberlawn Elementary – Growth Mindset Award

During the program, all JPS counselors received a certificate of appreciation in recognition of their commitment to the District's students. As a guest speaker for the event, Superintendent Dr. Errick L. Greene used his time to share words of encouragement with the counselors. Ada Gater of Oak Forest Elementary served as the keynote speaker. Tying into the national theme, "School Counselors: Helping Build Better Humans," Gater reminded counselors of their essential role in the success of JPS scholars.

National School Counseling Week (NSCW), sponsored by the American School Counselor Association, was held February 3-7. NSCW focuses public attention on the unique contributions of Professional School Counselors within U.S. school systems and how students are different as a result of what Professional School Counselors do. The event highlights the tremendous impact Professional School Counselors can have in helping students achieve school success and plan for a career.

Ebonie Butler-Cheeks Adrienne Fleming
Collaborating Counselor Award
Ebonie Butler-Cheeks
Rookie of the Year Award
Adrienne Fleming
Whitney Gray Lashonda Turner
The Award
Whitney Gray
Growth Mindset Award
LaShonda Turner

"We planned this celebration as a way to commend the Professional School Counselors of the Jackson Public School District," said Director of Counseling Dr. LeSian Davis. "Our counselors contribute to transforming scholars' lives by helping them to examine their abilities, strengths, interests. Additionally, they work with parents and other educators to enhance students' academic experiences through a variety of means."

Counselors from all JPS schools
Dr. LeSian Davis, Director of Counseling, and Amanda Thomas, Executive Director of Climate & Wellness, presented awards. All JPS counselors received a certificate of appreciation.