Department Overview

  • Jackson Public Schools - Transportation Department

    The primary goal of the JPS Transportation Department is to transport students safely to and from school each day. The department is committed to maintaining a safe environment for all students while riding school buses and ensuring that the highest standards are adhered to by those who utilize JPS student transportation services.

    Our department is one of the largest of its type in the state of Mississippi. It has frequently received commendations from the Mississippi Department of Education and has been cited as an exemplary school district Transportation department at annual Pupil Transportation conferences.

    The JPS Transportation Department has approximately 350 employees serving as administrators, drivers, and mechanics. The department currently has a fleet of 246 buses and transports over 23,000 students each day. Our drivers cover about 1,863,290 miles each school year. They are the most highly trained drivers in the state.

    The programs we implement in our daily routine include:

    • Boundary Planning–Updating and maintaining information relating to boundaries and the city map.
    • Routing System–Managing over 300 routes for the school district. Each year, the department sends bus cards to parents/guardians with students' bus information.
    • Fleet Maintenance–Managing the entire district's fleet to ensure safety as well as economic efficiency.
    • Field Trip Management–Managing field trip requests for the district.
    • GPS–Assist management with daily tracking of buses and scheduling of bus routes.

    Bus routes consist of triple and quadruple runs. We take pride in our safety record and putting Students First!

Contact Information

  • Transportation North:

    Aisha Steele, Supervisor

    (601) 960-5301

    Transportation South:

    Janie Knott, Supervisor

    (601) 960-5404

    Vehicle Service Center:

    Jerry Lennon, Supervisor

    (601) 987-3604

    Transportation Central:

    Stephanie Harris-Martin, Executive Director

    LaCharles Brister, Director

    Kennitra Thompson-Williams, Administrative Secretary

    101 Dr. Dennis Holloway Drive
    Jackson, MS 39203
    Phone: (601) 960-8919



Last Modified on July 10, 2024