Home > News Room > Current News Archive

News Room Archives

Add to Favorites Subscribe to RSS Feed Like JPS on Facebook Follow Dr. Gray on Twitter Watch JPS ITV Programs on YouTube

2013 JPS Middle School Challenge Bowl 
March 12, 2013


Quiz Bowl teams from Bailey APAC, Blackburn, Cardozo, Chastain, and Siwell met for the final round of the 2013 JPS Middle School Academic Challenge Bowl held March 1, 2013, at Blackburn Middle School. After two days of competition, the team from Bailey APAC outpaced their opponents to win first place. Cardozo and Blackburn placed second and third, respectively.

As in college quiz bowls, student teams earn points competing against one another based on their responses to academic and current events questions posed by a moderator. Response times are limited, so the team with the first accurate response within the time limit earns points.

The Beta Delta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority has sponsored the event in JPS for more than 25 years. Members of the organization served as judges and presented awards to the winners. The program included JPS Superintendent Dr. Cedrick Gray, Executive Director of Middle Schools Vonda Beatty, and Deputy Superintendent Dr. Lorene Essex.

2013 JPS Middle School Challenge Bowl Winners

First Place – Bailey APAC
First Place - Bailey APAC
Team members are (alphabetically) Tosin Akinyemi, Charles Deaton, Matthew Dilworth, Nina Foster, Rachel Hairston, Reese Overstreet, Kelando Mosley, and Jose Novas. Their coach is Roberta Hagler. Christie Hollingshead is the school's principal.

Second Place – Cardozo Middle
Second Place - Cardozo Middle
Team members are (alphabetically) Ajavious Brown, Lakymberya Buckner, Malik James, Desmond Jones, Keysean McClain, Amani Rucker, Trevian Strong, and Shantell White. Brittany Austin and Darron Daniels are the team's coaches. Dr. Josephine Kelly is the principal at Cardozo.

Third Place – Blackburn Middle
Third Place - Blackburn Middle
Team members are (alphabetically) Dahiana Barasz, Terrence Brent, Tyrese Dubose, Taylor Parmley, Eliza Reese, Tahriesha Smith, and Lania Thompson. Bridget Harkins is the teams coach. and Dr. Marietta Carter is the principal.

More coverage: